Experiments in Body Products

I finally found some motivation to concoct some body lotion. I have been using sweet almond oil for some time and while I find it satisfying, I was ready to try something different.

2014-03-03 14.13.45

I pooled all my yummy resources and over a double boiler on low-ish heat I mixed:

  • 1 part coconut oil
  • 1 part sweet almond oil
  • 2 parts organic shea butter.

I added a few tablespoons of vanilla extract for some perfume, or as we like to call it in our household, “smellum.” Once it was mixed to my satisfaction, I placed the bowl in the fridge with a large sign that it is no longer a consumable product (lest someone mistake it for some delicious fruit topping or something bizarre that I haven’t imagined yet).

Once it’s been chilled, read: firm, take a hand mixer to it and whip it good! I put mine in a glass jar for display amongst the many jars already found in my bathroom.

Here’s what I like:

It’s easy. This didn’t take much time to put together. I happen to have all these products. All I needed was inspiration.

It smells amazing. I love the smell of vanilla.

Here’s what I perceive to be the downside:

It’s kinda greasy. I expected this though because the sweet almond oil lingers on the body for a bit. I just put my fancy robe on after I slather it on my body and pretend I’m in a luxury spa. I brew a hot cup of tea and sip on it until I feel it’s soaked in my skin. This can be tough if you are in a hurry in the morning, but it forces me to slow down and enjoy the process of easing into my day. That might sound a bit hippy-dippy but it truly makes for an enjoyable morning. I do not apply lotion to my feet at all unless I put on slippers. I’m terrified that I’ll slip before it is absorbed by the skin. I just don’t want to hit my head on the tub or something. That could be a disaster.

My dog loves it. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but I don’t like to be licked. It’s just icky to me.

The amount of lotion that is made should last for quite a bit of time because I don’t apply a ton of it. I particularly like the vanilla smell. I found some neat facts about vanilla that just reinforces my feelings about vanilla:

  • The vanilla plant is an orchid, native of Mexico- it’s the only edible orchid.
  • Vanilla is the world’s most second most labor-intensive agricultural crop.
  • The flower only blooms for 24 hours. If it doesn’t get pollinated, it will die.
  • Historically, vanilla is described as an aphrodisiac
  • Additionally, it is a remedy for fevers.
  • Vanilla is the most popular flavor of ice cream in the United States.
  • Mr. Thomas Jefferson brought vanilla to the United States in 1789. Hats off to you sir!
  • Adding a few drops of vanilla will cut the acidity of tomato-based foods- this is a useful tip!

Obviously the vanilla in the recipe is optional. Maybe you substitute essential oils. How about some herbs? Lemon zest? What’s your flavor?

Leave a comment